Basic Facts of Austria-Hungary

Austria-Hungary was an empire in Central Europe.  It existed from 1897 to 1918.  The royal crown of Austria-Hungary belonged to the great and powerful Hapsburg family.  The capital of this multi-nation state was Vienna.  Until World War One, Austria-Hungary was a powerful nation.  In European history, it is the second largest empire, only following behind the Roman Empire and it is the third most populous, following behind the German Empire.  Included in Austria-Hungary's lands is eleven national groups. 

Austria Hungary only had two emperors; the first was Franz Joseph I.  He ruled from 1848 to 1916.  His picture is shown above.  

The second emperor of Austria Hungary was Karl I.  He ruled from 1916 to 1918.  His picture is shown above.